Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Hi Wine for Normal People listeners! Welcome to the podcast page. For more info, please go to winefornormalpeople.com and use the Contact Page to ask questions or reach out! 

Mar 10, 2018

Fresh off an amazing trip to the North Canterbury region, just north of Christchurch on the South Island of her homeland, New Zealand, Simone Madden-Grey let's us in on a little known region that we all need to try (and visit): North Canterbury.

Here are some quick notes from the show:

  • The Alps are to the west, the Pacific Ocean to the east.
  • Cool, dry climate with high sunshine and a long growing season means pure, flavorful wines -- especially aromatic whites like Riesling, Pinot Gris, Gewürztraminer since the climate is similar to Alsace. Pinot Noir is also stunning from here
  • 3% of NZ production
  • Wines are grown on the valley floor and vineyards (top ones) are being planted on the hillsides and foothills
  • The stunning subregions of Waipara and Waitaki Valleys are the hot spots for quality wine in the region.
    • Waipara Valley is 40 minutes north of Christchurch
    • About 30 wineries in the valley
  • We discuss the beautiful produce of the ares and how the food and wine are so fully integrated into the culture here, as it is no where else
  • For a list of all the wineries, with links go here: Wineries and Vineyards of North Canterbury and Waipara
  • And the list of wines Simone mentions --

Bell Hill Vineyard – http://www.bellhill.co.nz/

Bellbird Spring – http://www.bellbirdspring.co.nz/

Black Estate – http://blackestate.co.nz/

Greystone Wines – http://www.greystonewines.co.nz/

Pegasus Bay – http://www.pegasusbay.com/

Pyramid Valley – http://pyramidvalley.co.nz/

Tongue in Groove – http://tongueingroove.co.nz/

 

As a wrap up for Women's History Month, we talk about our experiences as women in wine. 

Thanks to Simone and to our sponsor this week:

The Great Courses Plus -- who makes you smarter and more well rounded! With thousands of outstanding video lectures that you can watch or listen to any time and anywhere, The Great Courses Plus is an easy way to stimulate your brain and make you smarter! For a free trial, go to thegreatcoursesplus.com/wine